July 10, 2009

  • The Rock Tenor is the Best Rock Concert You’ll See This Year!

    Imagine if you will a mix tape made for you by someone who REALLY knows music and enjoys genres as diverse as Puccini and Led Zeppelin. Now consider that the tunes are delivered to you live, in an intimate setting, in all new arrangements. Consider further that the performers are seasoned veterans who are extremely easy on the eyes and include, at the front, a well known rock star. Add in an absolutely kick ass band that includes wicked electric violin and cello. Mix it together with multimedia staging, digital lasers and amazing sound, and you have a hint at THE ROCK TENOR at the Wilma in Philadelphia. http://www.therocktenor.com
    I caught the first preview of this show last night. The audience was cautioned by Vince Marini, the director, that the performance was in actuality only the second complete run-through. I was blown away. Not only by how good it was in it’s rough condition, but by how good I know it will be once the performers are more at ease and the lights, sound, and staging are absolutely solid. The voices are amazing. I wish I could tell you who they are but the programs weren’t ready. Perhaps Vince will add a comment with their names. They are beautiful women and beautiful men with incredible voices. The star though is Rob Evans of Trans Siberian Orchestra who absolutely mesmerizes with his range and versatility. The selection of tunes range from Zeppelin to Puccini from Josh Groban to The Beatles with unreal concatenations of songs such as a mix of Handel/Journey/Sondheim or Styx/Mozart/Stravinsky.
    I am a home town fan and I would give a nod to Vince’s show even if it was fair because I’ve worked with him and I like and respect his work…but I wouldn’t gush. GO SEE THIS SHOW! You will be on your feet and loving every minute.
    BTW, Kudos to Nick Cheng, my bud and Asst. Music Dir. and 2nd piano. The band was better than most touring rock bands I’ve seen. I would go to a show just to hear the ensemble.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *