December 7, 2008

  • Keeping Up

    I figured I’d start this post out on Xanga since I can’t get an RSS feed from Facebook to Xanga but I can the other way around (for those of you who think RSS stands for Roto Rooter Saves Sewers, or something like that…don’t worry about it. It’s not something you need to know; yet)
    I am in crunch mode for line learnin’ for Woolf. I need some self discipline! Every time I sit down to study I write notes, or eat, or check my email, or paint the garage, or…you get the idea. Lou, our erstwhile director has issued an edict; off book next Sunday or die. So I will be off book next Sunday. Which of course leaves me plenty of time to waste to blog!

    I am looking forward to the upcoming holidays. Not because I have any celebrations planned. I mean I don’t do Christmas and I don’t do Hanukkah really and Kwanza is pretty much out, post racial world or not. I’m just looking forward to some time off, some time out. From the economy, money troubles, family tzurris, other peoples problems, employee betrayals, employee hand holding, I’ve been swimming in an anxiety soup since August and I want a floaty. I want to put those little floaties on my arms and just relax without fear of going under. I don’t know, we live in scary times and I’m tired of it. It’s times like these that make me regret not doing drugs. Man would that be dangerous! You know,” feeling helpless? How about a little blow? Wired from the blow? Here’s some Maui Wowie.Need some sleep? Snort some of these oxy’s.” I won’t be a bit surprised if drug and alcohol abuse goes way up during the next year or so. Of course it’s not the answer. But it is a vacation. Of course, of course, the problems just get worse, we know. “Wherever you go, there you are” indeed. So I’ll just kvetch. And take some time off in a few weeks.And do nothing. Except study my lines (which of course I’ll do from memory, see above). And eat. And get together with a few friends…and write on these social networks to annoy my “friends.”

Comments (1)

  • ^_^ I take it that you see recreational drug use as self-medication as an example of the saying, “The doctor who treats himself has a fool for a patient”?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *