Month: June 2009

  • Another One Bites the Dust

    Sweeney is history. Today's performance might have been the best (or last night's; can't tell). We had good houses all nights, a decent review, and raves from the audiences. I really think people enjoyed the show and I do believe that this cast, all together, had the best voices of any musical cast with which I've worked in the past. That includes pro shows. It's not that I haven't worked with other amazing vocalists, it's just that there was such a high percentage of amazing vocalists it was a pleasure to hear Sondheim out of their mouths. Mostly.

    I do have complaints (of course). Most are with me and my performance. I just never did the part as well as I desired. Turpin's big song is really tough to hear, rhythmically and tonally. I substituted acting for precise singing and, while the audience bought it, I was unhappy. I also feel that the vocal direction was weak. Even though the voices were very good, there were lots of problems with rhythmic precision and enunciation. I mean, an eighth note is not a quarter or half note. And chorus parts frequently had some people a 32nd note behind as they listened for what others were singing. Could have been corrected but wasn't even noted. The band though was outrageous good.

    I had doubts about doing Judge Turpin you might recall because I had gone out for Sweeney; a role I've wanted to perform. Generally, if I don't get the role I seek, I don't do the show because I get miserable. I must say however that Patrick Andrae did such a good job of playing Sweeney that I felt not the slightest jealousy or negative feeling. Either he was very good or I am maturing...probably the former.

    As I stated before, I don't know how many more musicals I'll do. My voice is generally shot; a pale imitation of what it once was. Natural enough in a man pushing 60 but a drag nonetheless. I suppose I could improve it but that would probably mean giving up cigars and whiskey and, while performing in musicals gives me periodic pleasure, smoking one of my dusky beauties pleases me every day. Still, there could be other musicals. I was kind of hoping to do Showboat at Media, maybe as Captain Andy but the notice was posted this week and it calls for a "Jolly" Captain. To me, that's code for heavy set, something I am no longer. They also want a tenor although why that is escapes me since the only number the Captain sings is "The Band Played On." Pierrot Productions is doing The Producers in the fall and I would love to play Bialystock but, again, I'm not really the general physical type for the role. I have thought of going for Frank though or maybe even Roger DeBris. (Playing Roger would just shock so many people that it's a very tempting prospect. Then again, maybe I just want to air my transvestite side). Of course I would love to do Equus but, since the director doesn't see me strongly enough in the psychiatrist's role to pre-cast me, I'm not waiting around to see if I win the lottery.

    It was great to see so many friends and colleagues at the shows during the past weeks. Thank you for your support. And to those who did not come...well ya gotta see mine if ya want me to see yours.

    I want to give a shout out to Pippin at Town and Country. Promises to be a very good show directed by John Zimmerman and featuring Mike Schiumo (who came to see Sweeeny...see how this works?) Get tickets at http://www.townandcountryplayers.org/