Month: December 2008

  • By George! I Think He’s Got It!

    Another thing I’ve learned over the years about memorization, whether of academic material or lines, is that sometimes a day or two of NOT studying, after many days of cramming, can be beneficial to memory. I didn’t study lines on Sunday after rehearsal and I didn’t pick up the script again until last night. I was pleased that I made few mistakes running through the script. Now this could change when we are on stage but I’m feeling somewhat better, thank you. What becomes very challenging is that we all need to be quite letter perfect because if I give the wrong cue or I’m given the wrong cue, we can lose a page of dialogue and, even tho the audience might not notice; this play is so well written that leaving out lines is a dramatic crime.

    I want to thank John Maurer and all the other folks at MP Onstage for putting together pod casts of shows in Central New Jersey; not just their own. It is a neat and innovative way to communicate with the audience and other theater people that I hope will swell and become a lasting feature of the New Jersey arts scene. I’ve been listening to the Podcasts (okay Virginia Woolf’s Podcast peaked my interest) and they’re enjoyable listening. I encourage readers to check them out at www.mponstage.com 

    New Year is upon us and, being the depressive I am, of course I wax nostalgic and wistful of bygone days. For some this is a natural part of aging but I think this began for me when I was about 6. I posted some videos of Danny Kaye on Facebook (not my brother Danny Kaye; the actor Danny Kaye). I spent a couple of hours on Youtube watching clips of Kaye, Groucho, Jack Benny, Fred Allen, many more and they are so evocative of being young. Ah well. Life goes on (if we’re fortunate). I have so much to be thankful for; Carolyn and Sommer, my work, not being ill, and of course acting and singing. My life has been infinitely enriched by returning to performing and I hope to continue improving my skills and learning, as I grow old, how to do more with less.

    To all my friends and to all my foes: I hope that the New Year sees all of your best hopes and wishes fulfilled.

  • The Age of Miracles is Upon Us

    The Eagles are in the playoffs. Oh ye of little faith. Actually, I am among ye, I would have put money on them being frozen out this year. Well, that’s why I have no money; sure bets like that. In fact, those of you with a gambling temperament ought to give me a call before any wager. Ask my opinion and then go the other way; can’t lose.

    In other news the Woolf is at the door and I am on the floor. Not that the show will not be great. I have every confidence that it will. I am just having the shits. You know? The gastric distress that one gets when, rehearsal after rehearsal, as the show gets closer, you suck. Yeah that warm feeling in your pants.

    It’s just that it’s a complex show with, like 10,000,000 lines, many of them only slightly altered from, say, 15 other lines. I know, I know, I’ll get it. The magic of theater will sprinkle its’ magic spunk on we mortals and…presto chango! a beautiful show will be born. I always get like this before a show opens. I’ll be cool for showtime but ohhhh MAMA! do I worry in the meantime. I’m very pleased that we have at least 6 more run throughs before open. Unfortunately, we have no more rehearsals this week which doesn’t bother me. No, I’ve decided that, being New Years and all, I am going to do massive quantities of mind altering substances…and study my script. Now there is something called “state dependent memory” so I may have to do the show bombed. Oh well, better than to bomb in the show! :( Just kidding children. You all know that Uncle John has sworn of all mind altering substances for many years…ever since the alien abduction (see my post “Is that a phazer in your hand or are you just happy to see me?”).

    I’ve spoken a bit about Ruth Markoe as Martha (great), but I haven’t really spoken about Danny Siegel and Ashley Stuart; Nick and Honey respectively. They’re also great. They’ve been off book for ages, they patiently sit and wait while their elders massacre lines and blithely eliminate dozens of Nick and Honey’s lines, and they’re GOOD. They play as though the parts are written for them. They have held things together admirably and I salute them.

    Okay, look, this is a great show. It is modern Shakespeare. I creamed when I first read it. Anyone who loves theater will love this show. And we will be good, we will be very very good. I want to see you there. I guarantee it will be a special night.

    I apologize for the for all the equivocation, the kvetching and the anxiety. Okay, gotta clean my pants.

    BTW Go to www.mponstage.com and listen to the Podcast about the show. Ruth Markoe, Lou Stallsworth, and me. Hosted by John Maurer

  • Everyday, It’s a Gettin’ Closer

    Twenty days until Woolf opens. Yikes! It’s still pretty raw. Lou, our erstwhile director, has not yet begun to drink heavily, at least not at rehearsal (and for that I give him credit). Yet another reason I choose not to direct; while I have the anxiety of not being totally off book yet and am still unsure of some of the right notes, Lou has to watch not only me flounder, but my fellow flukes as well (how’s that for a metaphoric pun eh?)
    The process has been fun and extremely interesting. I am of course morphing into George which is actually easier for my wife to take than was Petruchio or even Scrooge. The play may be brutal but George is actually a sweet guy when not crossed, threatened, or in any manner challenged. Lucky for us all Carolyn has been in a good mood lately.
    So, I spent some weeks complaining about the difficulty with lines…whining actually. Lou gave me a well deserved kick in the…teeth and reminded me that acting is work and doing it well is a talent. Imagine! It had not actually occurred to me recently that I got cast because perhaps I had some talent and the ability to work hard. Go figure. So I will buck up and stop acting like a little girl…or little boy for that matter (does that satisfy my readers who insist on gender neutrality?) I am pressing forward and I am resolved to be, if not letter perfect, damn close on Sunday.
    Actually we’ve had talk about the relative need to be “letter perfect.” It is my opinion that actors should strive, in theater, to stay as close to the language of the author as is possible. We are not writers. The language is theirs, the story is theirs, we owe to authors the faithful representation of their words. The interpretation is, of course, all ours. I dislike paraphrasing; it debases the author’s art. Few of us can adlib as well as Shakespeare or as Albee for that matter, could and can write. I don’t agree that it is enough to get the flavor. We must present the meat, otherwise we’re left with a thin broth (you see what I mean by lousy writing?)
    Okay, I’m outta here. I got lines left to do (God, does that ring a totally different bell…from the past, from the past.)

  • Not Quite a Comedy of Errors

    I have been sitting in all weekend trying to smash these lines into my head. This is by far the most difficult show I’ve ever done. I’m not certain why. I mean I’ve done Shakespeare and not had this much difficulty memorizing. I’d say it’s the quantity of lines but that’s not true; I’ve done lots of lines before (An Empty Plate, Shakespeare). It may be the many non sequiturs with which Albee litters George’s speech, I don’t now. I’ll get it eventually. I still have all night (if I avoid the computer). There is though a little extra problem of needing to memorize the Latin Mass for the Dead. That may take another week.

    Speaking of Shakespeare and avoiding the computer (how’s that for a transition?) I was looking in my junk mail file today, something I do periodically because occasionally things get sent there that don’t belong, and I found an email from Chuck DeLong over at Collingswood Shakespeare asking if I was interested in Vincentio in their production of Measure for Measure! I am so bummed! First off, it’s not that I was universally loved at Collingswood and having them believe I ignored an invite is not something I want bandied about. (For the edification of all; I never ignore requests or messages. If you try and reach me and I don’t answer, I didn’t get the message. Except on Facebook when people send me flowers, dogs, knighthoods, Karma, Flair, and other shit; I never answer that. I have a theory that accepting those applications fucks your computer in the long run.) So…sorry Collingswood people and especially you Chuck. I would have seriously considered trying for the role.  It’s a great role and one I’ve wanted to do. Oh well. Good luck to Collingswood on your production.

  • Keeping Up

    I figured I’d start this post out on Xanga since I can’t get an RSS feed from Facebook to Xanga but I can the other way around (for those of you who think RSS stands for Roto Rooter Saves Sewers, or something like that…don’t worry about it. It’s not something you need to know; yet)
    I am in crunch mode for line learnin’ for Woolf. I need some self discipline! Every time I sit down to study I write notes, or eat, or check my email, or paint the garage, or…you get the idea. Lou, our erstwhile director has issued an edict; off book next Sunday or die. So I will be off book next Sunday. Which of course leaves me plenty of time to waste to blog!

    I am looking forward to the upcoming holidays. Not because I have any celebrations planned. I mean I don’t do Christmas and I don’t do Hanukkah really and Kwanza is pretty much out, post racial world or not. I’m just looking forward to some time off, some time out. From the economy, money troubles, family tzurris, other peoples problems, employee betrayals, employee hand holding, I’ve been swimming in an anxiety soup since August and I want a floaty. I want to put those little floaties on my arms and just relax without fear of going under. I don’t know, we live in scary times and I’m tired of it. It’s times like these that make me regret not doing drugs. Man would that be dangerous! You know,” feeling helpless? How about a little blow? Wired from the blow? Here’s some Maui Wowie.Need some sleep? Snort some of these oxy’s.” I won’t be a bit surprised if drug and alcohol abuse goes way up during the next year or so. Of course it’s not the answer. But it is a vacation. Of course, of course, the problems just get worse, we know. “Wherever you go, there you are” indeed. So I’ll just kvetch. And take some time off in a few weeks.And do nothing. Except study my lines (which of course I’ll do from memory, see above). And eat. And get together with a few friends…and write on these social networks to annoy my “friends.”

  • A Bear of a Show

    Well into the creative process for Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf. This is, by far, the most challenging role I’ve ever undertaken. The range required is pretty awe inspiring. That Albee knows his onions when it comes to character development let me tell you. Memorizing the lines is agonizing though. There are many non sequiturs and rambling speeches. George tends to speak in paragraphs (much like…well, me). There are layers I’ve not yet explored but, thankfully, we are still a month out. It does give me the willies though not being off book yet. Maybe this weekend I can set aside enough time to memorize.
    I don’t know about my colleagues, but when I am in a show it tends to take over my life. Not so much the rehearsing as the obsessing. I think about character development all of the time it seems. I actually wish we had more rehearsal time, not less.As involved as I am with the show however, I am actively looking for my next show. I look at Sweeny at Kelsey with great interest and plan on auditioning as of right now, but I’m wondering whether I will be seriously considered for Sweeny himself now that Johnny Depp has lowered the age expectation for the lead. It played older on Broadway, especially during the first run. Now I suppose I would be suited as well for Judge Turpin and that is a very good role, it’s just that I’m having difficulty seeing myself as the Judge, mostly because Sweeny himself is on my life list. I’ve also learned ad nauseam not to put all my eggs in one basket and so, if something tasty should come up in the next few months I will definitely try for it.
    I have been regretting not going to see more shows that feature people with whom I’ve acted. There are just so many of them! Making it difficult is the fact that mi espousa has no interest in spending a weekend evening seeing community theater. Given that I spend so much time out of the home rehearsing and such I often don’t have the reward points needed to go out solo on the weekend. And so I miss many good productions. Ah well. I make a few.
    For those of you who have not scarfed up tickets to Woolf yet, remember it’s at Kelsey Theater 1/9-1/18. Don’t be like me. Support community theater.