December 30, 2008

  • By George! I Think He's Got It!

    Another thing I've learned over the years about memorization, whether of academic material or lines, is that sometimes a day or two of NOT studying, after many days of cramming, can be beneficial to memory. I didn't study lines on Sunday after rehearsal and I didn't pick up the script again until last night. I was pleased that I made few mistakes running through the script. Now this could change when we are on stage but I'm feeling somewhat better, thank you. What becomes very challenging is that we all need to be quite letter perfect because if I give the wrong cue or I'm given the wrong cue, we can lose a page of dialogue and, even tho the audience might not notice; this play is so well written that leaving out lines is a dramatic crime.

    I want to thank John Maurer and all the other folks at MP Onstage for putting together pod casts of shows in Central New Jersey; not just their own. It is a neat and innovative way to communicate with the audience and other theater people that I hope will swell and become a lasting feature of the New Jersey arts scene. I've been listening to the Podcasts (okay Virginia Woolf's Podcast peaked my interest) and they're enjoyable listening. I encourage readers to check them out at www.mponstage.com 

    New Year is upon us and, being the depressive I am, of course I wax nostalgic and wistful of bygone days. For some this is a natural part of aging but I think this began for me when I was about 6. I posted some videos of Danny Kaye on Facebook (not my brother Danny Kaye; the actor Danny Kaye). I spent a couple of hours on Youtube watching clips of Kaye, Groucho, Jack Benny, Fred Allen, many more and they are so evocative of being young. Ah well. Life goes on (if we're fortunate). I have so much to be thankful for; Carolyn and Sommer, my work, not being ill, and of course acting and singing. My life has been infinitely enriched by returning to performing and I hope to continue improving my skills and learning, as I grow old, how to do more with less.

    To all my friends and to all my foes: I hope that the New Year sees all of your best hopes and wishes fulfilled.