May 12, 2009

  • It's Been a While

    I just realized that it's been a couple of weeks (well months, actually) since I've regaled the world with my observations and thoughts. How ever did everyone do without my notes! Okay, no one noticed, but still I will write my current musings even though you're supremely uninterested.

    Sweeney Todd is at that stage where all shows are three weeks out; it blows. Now please cast mates, don't get your knickers in a twist, the show will be very good; perhaps better than I hoped. There are some extremely good singers in this cast and that is an absolute requirement for Sweeney Todd. What is difficult to assess is the level of acting. The score is so complex and everyone is working so hard to get it right, that there has been neither time nor space to work on character development. Hopefully this week, as we all get off book, some acting will begin to emerge. I am every bit as guilty of non-acting as anyone; perhaps more so in that I have missed so many rehearsals. I've had about a million talks to do over the last month. See, I schedule most of my talks about one year out. Typically way before most theater's schedules are published. What this means is, as is the case now, I can wind up having many inconvenient conflicts. I'm actually booking my talks for next year. The only show that I know I want to leave space for is Equus at Kelsey. (Not that I've been assured any role in that show but I want to be available and without conflicts if possible.) But the show will be a hit and I will be disgustingly lecherous; even more so than is my wont. Come see it. The show runs 5/29-6/7. There is a reception after the 5/29 show. Tickets at: http://www.kelseyatmccc.org

    In other news, speaking of next year, I have an audition at Lantern Theater Company for Henry IV pt.1 that goes up in March '10. It's actually a general EPA for the entire season but they gave me, a mere Equity Candidate a confirmed appointment. I am grateful not to have to sit and wait for 6 hours. I've decided to delete my academic bona fides from my acting resume'. I have a sneaky suspicion that having a Ph.D. in psychology actually works against me when going for Equity gigs. There is an assumption that I am merely a dilettante and not sufficiently serious about acting. If I actually get cast more often perhaps I'm right. Of course I could be just making excuses. Maybe I ought to obtain more talent.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *