October 8, 2008

  • Who knows what evil lurks?

    Well this is certainly interesting. I got a phone call from the stage manager of Woolf to let me know that there was going to be another round of callbacks next week, skipping this week entirely, date and time tba. I can only assume that there were other auditions, although I can't even assume that. There were only two of us reading for George. How difficult is that? Flip a coin, I don't know. I have stopped trying to read the minds of directors; it's dark and dirty in there. I haven't even wanted to get back to other people (Marthas) who were at the callbacks; what if they haven't been called back? If the measure of a good show is the agonizing over casting, this show will be spectacular.

    Pat Bartlett called me to alert me to an opportunity to gain equity points by understudying several shows at Two River Theatre Company in Red Bank, NJ. This sounds like an excellent opportunity (it also sounds as though they're hard up for men "of a certain age." ) I would LOVE to jump at the chance but unfortunately Red Bank is at least 75 miles from my home. More from my work. While I am tempted to declare bankruptcy and jump at it; I haven't yet grown the balls. Given the current economic debacle I just can't give up work; not yet anyway.